Guillaume Faury has been formally appointed Airbus chief executive officer, replacing the outgoing CEO Tom Enders whose Board Mandate expired at the close of the Airbus Annual General Meeting on 10 April.

At the 2019 AGM shareholders passed all resolutions including the appointment of Guillaume Faury as an executive member of the Board of Directors for three years.

Airbus announced last October that the Board of Directors had selected Faury, previously the president of Airbus Commercial Aircraft, as its next CEO.

“I’m pleased to welcome Guillaume Faury to the Board and am confident that as CEO he will successfully guide Airbus into the next decade,” said Denis Ranque, Chairman of the Airbus Board of Directors. “Guillaume has exactly the right skill set and experience needed to take Airbus forward. Separately, I would like to thank Tom Enders for all his achievements during his time as CEO, including particularly the value created for our shareholders and the development of our Company to the benefit of all employees and the supply chain.”

Guillaume Faury said: “It’s a real privilege to take over as Airbus CEO and lead this outstanding company into the 2020s. I would like to thank the Board and shareholders for their trust. I look forward to working with our great teams and shaping the Airbus of tomorrow, to better serve our customers, increase our competitiveness, and grow in a sustainable way.”

On the recommendation of the Remuneration, Nomination and Governance Committee (RNGC), the Board also selected René Obermann to succeed Denis Ranque as chairman of the Airbus Board of Directors when his current mandate expires at the close of the 2020 AGM, when he will have served for seven years as chairman.

René Obermann has been an independent non-executive member of the Airbus Board of Directors since APril 2018. He has served as a managing director of private equity house Warburg Pincus since 2015 and is also a Member of the Boards of Telenor ASA and Allianz Deutschland AG. Between 2006 and 2013 Obermann was CEO of Deutsche Telekom.

Leave a Reply